Spirit of the Water Essay Contest

In 2016, the Iowa Water Center conducted its first-ever essay writing contest for high school students in Iowa. The Spirit of the Water Essay Contest was established and funded through a generous gift from Betty and Dennis Keeney of Ames, Iowa. It is now an annual competition that inspires Iowa youth to explore, reflect, and communicate the importance of water in their lives and communities.
The contest is conducted in the fall and winter, with winners announced at the Iowa Water Conference in March. Submissions to the contest are evaluated by a panel of agency representatives, industry experts, and researchers in water. The top three essays receive a monetary prize, publication in an e-anthology, and a scholarship to attend a summer course at Iowa Lakeside Laboratory: Regents Resource Center.

2018 Contest

The Iowa Water Center would like to invite students from around the state to participate in the 2018 Iowa Water Center Spirit of the Water Essay Contest and share with us how water inspires them.
The 2018 contest submission period will be from October 2, 2017 - February 5, 2018. Information regarding submission guidelines, judging criteria, and essay prompts will be available soon. Questions and inquiries regarding the contest can be directed to Hanna Bates, Iowa Water Center Program Assistant.
We recognize the positive impact of diversity and welcome applications from all students meeting elibility guidelines. Persons with documented disabilities are encouraged to contact IWC staff to make timely requests for reasonable accommodations.

Previous Contests


Essay prompt: Think of a body of water that you are familiar with and the different kinds of benefits that it provides to the surrounding area. Why are places like that worth protecting?
2017 Iowa Water Center Spirit of the Water Essay Contest Anthology
Contest winners:
First Place: Donald Gee, International Baccalaureate Program at Central Academy in Des Moines
Second Place: Anna Kolln, Cedar Rapids Washington High School
Third Place: Tyler Buman, Harlan Community High School
Honorable Mention: Maggie Langenfeld, Harlan Community High School
Contest judges:
Laura Crowell
State Public Affairs Specialist, Iowa Natural Resources Conservation Service
Betty Keeney
Spirit of the Water Essay Contest Benefactor
Dennis Keeney
Spirt of the Water Essay Contest Benefactor; Emeritus Professor, Iowa State University; Former director, Iowa Water Center; First director, Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture
Bill Northey
Secretary of Agriculture, State of Iowa

Share |