Advisory Board

The Iowa Water Center's advisory board works closely with the center director and coordinator to define the vision and goals for the Center and to guide its programs. In addition to individuals with science and policy expertise, board membership includes representatives from Iowa organizations having water interests and responsibilities. These include Iowa’s Regents universities, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and selected federal agencies. 

Board Membership

John Nania
Deputy Director for Operations, USGS Illinois-Iowa Water Science Center


Gabriele Villarini
Director and Professor, IIHR — Hydroscience & Engineering, University of Iowa

Marty Adkins
Asst. State Conservationist (Water Resources), Natural Resources Conservation Service‚Ä®, USDA

Photo of Jake Hansen
Jake Hansen
Water Resources Bureau Chief, DSCWQ, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Mary Skopec
Executive Director, Iowa Lakeside Laboratory

Daryl Smith
Director and Professor, Tallgrass Prairie Center, University of Northern Iowa


Mimi Wagner
Associate Professor and Director of Sustainable Environments, Iowa State University
Photo coming soon. 
Jon Tack
Water Quality Bureau Chief, Iowa DNR
Iowa State University Advisors

Matt Helmers
Director, Iowa Nutrient Research Center

Jerry Zamzow
Assistant Vice President for Research, Iowa State University

Share |